h1

Telebonics …….

October 27, 2009

The other evening I was at my desk going over some bills when the phone rang. I noticed that the little screen on the phone was blank, indicating that the caller didn’t wish to be identified. The man on the other end of the phone spoke in a sleepy monotone that made him sound about as interested in talking to me as he might have been if he was being paid seven cents an hour to count nose hairs. Furthermore, he sounded as if he had a mouth full of mashed potatoes.

I doubt the guy’s training went beyond where to hang his coat. He couldn’t get my name right, and it’s not all that difficult. I mean, my heritage is pure English, Mayflower style. It’s not like I’m half Polish and half Chinese, for cryin’ out loud. There are vowels in my name, and they’re easy ones. Besides, I live in rural Maine. The least they could do, if they hope to get more than a hang-up, is have someone from New England make the calls, not someone from a homeless shelter in Southern California whose elocution skills are limited to elementary Ebonics.

I don’t know if the poor fool was trying to take a poll, sell me something, or what, but it was pathetic. I hung up on him. I sure as hell hope he didn’t get his job with Bailout money…………

I'd like to hear your side of the story...

